ST. PAUL (LEARFIELD) —  Governor Tim Walz says five Minnesota counties impacted by heavy rains and flooding this summer are getting state disaster assistance.

The storms from June 23rd through July 3rd caused significant damage and mudslides in Kittson, Le Sueur, Morrison, Renville, and Washington counties.

The state will cover 75 percent of eligible response and recovery costs and the local counties will come up with 25 percent.