MARSHALL – The Name-a-Snowplow contest has returned for a fourth year, according to the Minnesota Department of Transportation announced today. You may only vote once up to eight names and voting remains open through this Sunday. The top eight vote-getters will become MnDOT snowplow names – one new name for each MnDOT district. 

According to MnDOT, they’ve received more than 8,000 snowplow name submissions in December and MnDOT staff narrowed it down to 50 finalists for public voting. Winning names will be announced in late January. 

See the list of finalists and vote now at 

MnDOT staff have also helped to name three additional snowplows: Giiwedin-The North Wind; Goonodaabaan-Snow Vehicle (both Ojibwe); and Icamna-Blizzard (Dakota) in acknowledgement of the highways the state plows adjacent to tribal lands.