ST. PAUL (LEARFIELD) – Undergraduate tuition at the 30 colleges and 7 universities in the Minnesota State system will be frozen this fall, as the system as a whole faces a budget crunch.

An operating budget approved Wednesday projected a 58-million dollar budget deficit.

Chancelor Devinder Malhotra (duh-vin-der mal-hoe-trah) says they remain committed to affordability as students return to campus in the fall.

“Our promise is simple and straight forward,” said Malhotra. “Everyone of the colleges and universities of Minnesota State will be open in the fall and ready to welcome students.”

He says the system will be offering a mix of on campus and online course offerings.

“We will follow all of the protocols that are in place, safety protocols and social distancing protocols,” said Malhotra.

Southwest Minnesota State University and Minnesota West Community and Technical College are in the Minnesota State system.