ST. PAUL (LEARFIELD)  —  Governor Tim Walz is authorizing state disaster assistance for six Minnesota counties impacted by severe weather this spring and fall.

Dakota and Pope counties will receive state aid for damage suffered in spring flooding in March and April. The two counties were not designated in the federal disaster declaration but qualified after the deadline.

Pipestone, Rock and Traverse counties are getting help to recover from severe thunderstorms and flooding in mid-September following requests from county boards.

“Even though some of these events happened months ago, communities continue to struggle with damage to their infrastructure and local economy,” said Walz on Tuesday.

The state provides 75-percent of eligible costs for recovery.