The Small Cities Development Program has awarded $20 million in funding for small cities, townships, and counties in Greater Minnesota. The Small Cities Development Program (SCDP) grants will be used for infrastructure and rehabilitation projects in 34 Minnesota cities, townships, and counties. 

Area towns receiving funds include: 

  • City of Balaton, $599,955
    • Owner-occupied housing and rental rehabilitation 
  • City of Danube, $600,000
    • Public facility improvements 
  • City of Hendricks/Garvin, $1,198,325
    • Owner-occupied housing, rental rehabilitation and public facility improvements 
  • City of Maynard, $115,000
    • Rental rehabilitation 
  • City of Sanborn, $600,000
    • Public facility improvements 
  • City of Slayton, $737,840
    • Owner-occupied housing, rental and commercial rehabilitation 

SCDP grants will be administered by the Department of Employment and Economic Development and are part of the Community Development Block Grant Program of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The grants are administered by DEED’s Small Cities Development Program Unit. The SCDP grants pay for rehabilitating housing and commercial buildings and updating public infrastructure in small cities and counties.