ST. PAUL, Minn — Governor Tim Walz announced on Saturday that 22 counties have been approved for a federal disaster declaration by FEMA following severe flooding over the past two weeks. This declaration will provide critical resources for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and infrastructure repairs and replacements.

This approval comes after Governor Walz requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration. Governor Walz and FEMA Regional Administrator Tom Sivak recently updated the public on the state’s flood outlook and emergency response efforts. 

“I’ve seen the damage across our state firsthand – it’s going to take a united effort at every level of government to quickly rebuild and recover. This assistance is going to make all the difference in that recovery,” said Governor Walz. “I’m grateful to our partners in the federal government for doing their part, just as Minnesotans have done theirs, filling tens of thousands of sandbags, checking in on their neighbors, and volunteering their time.” 

Counties Approved for Assistance 

  • Blue Earth 
  • Carver 
  • Cass 
  • Cook 
  • Cottonwood 
  • Faribault 
  • Fillmore 
  • Freeborn 
  • Goodhue 
  • Jackson 
  • Lake 
  • Le Sueur 
  • Murray 
  • Nobles 
  • Pipestone 
  • Rice 
  • Rock 
  • St. Louis 
  • Steele 
  • Wabasha 
  • Waseca 
  • Watonwan 

Ongoing Assessments 

Damage assessments continue, and additional counties and forms of assistance may be added as assessments are completed. Twenty more counties are currently under review for potential inclusion in the disaster declaration. 

This federal aid is expected to significantly aid in the recovery efforts, helping communities rebuild and recover from the extensive flood damage.