The National Weather Service has issued a flood watch for portions of northwest Iowa, southwest Minnesota, and South Dakota due to the potential for flash flooding caused by excessive rainfall. Affected counties are as follows:

  • Northwest Iowa: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, and Sioux.
  • Southwest Minnesota: Cottonwood, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, and Rock.
  • South Dakota: Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brule, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, and Yankton.

The flood watch is in effect through Saturday morning. Extensive street flooding and flooding of creeks and rivers are possible, with area creeks and streams already running high. Forecasts indicate that widespread heavy rainfall is expected from Friday evening into Saturday morning, with accumulations of 1 to 4 inches, potentially higher south of Interstate 90.

Residents are advised to monitor later forecasts and be prepared to take action if flash flood warnings are issued. For more information, visit National Weather Service Flood Safety.